Wang Xiaobo


The perennial dark horse of modern Chinese literature, Wang Xiaobo is fiercely loved by readers and writers alike, but the canon, if there is such a thing, does not know how to make room for him. He wrote both fiction and essays, and while he saw himself primarily as an author, it is the essays which have earned him his ambiguous fame. The tone in which he wrote about Chinese society and culture seems light, and is often humorous, but it is the lightness of someone who has seen to the heart of things and takes none of it seriously. Of course, when he was not writing he did take things very seriously, and the pressure of a society which recognized his talent but could not assimilate his ideas may have hastened his death.

Works by Wang Xiaobo
Wo de Jingshen Jiayuan (我的精神家园), June, 1997
lit. "My Spiritual Homeland", currently untranslated
Chenmo de Daduoshu (沉默的大多数)
lit. "Silent Majority", currently untranslated
Heitie Shidai (黑铁时代)
lit. "Age of Iron", currently untranslated
Huangjin Shidai (黄金时代)
Translated as Wang in Love and Bondage
Qingtong Shidai (青铜时代)
lit. "Age of Bronze", currently untranslated
Siwei de Lequ (思维的乐趣)
lit. "The Pleasure of Thought", currently untranslated
Two new French editions of Wang Xiaobo
Wang Xiaobo's Love in an Age of Revolution
MCLC Publishes Wang Xiaobo Translation
Wang Xiaobo-bashing from Unhappy China